The Word “Escalate”


A friend of mine wrote the following as fodder for thought! It made me think and may encourage you to do so.

The Word “Escalate” by Sterling Tarrant

The road into my neighborhood is down to one lane because of construction work.  This led me to an altercation with another vehicle as I was trying to merge on Saturday.  If you’ve ever had that happen to you, then you know how quickly road rage can escalate.  Calm one minute.  Yelling the next.

As you think about the whole Zimmerman/Martin situation, the parties involved – both found themselves in a period of escalation that ended tragically.   We’ll never know exactly what happened that night, but we can know about the advice Jesus gives for times like this.  Advice that I had actually read the morning before my traffic incident.  Advice I wish I had followed:

Luke 6:27-29 “But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.  If someone strikes you on one cheek, turn to him the other also. If someone takes your cloak, do not stop him from taking your tunic.”

I’ve been thinking about the word “escalate.”  About how easy I find myself escalating feelings of indignation and anger when I’m on the road; and about how I wish I could quickly escalate feelings of prayer or caring when I feel someone’s done me wrong.

I was at a mall over the weekend that had a broken escalator.  If you’ve ever had to walk up or down one then you know how tough it is.  It takes big steps.  It’s slow going.  It made me think that’s what I need in situations like this.  I need to break my own escalator and take big steps toward turning the other cheek toward others.

Here are some videos that include turning the other cheek, and that will give you insight into how to become a person that doesn’t escalate:

Give Me Your Eyes – Brandon Heath

Every Man – Casting Crowns

Forgiveness – Matthew West

Make your comment here >>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.